Diana Marculescu has been a professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering since 2000. For the past two decades, she has done research in energy- and reliability-aware computing, and more recently, in CAD for non-silicon applications, including computational biology and sustainability. Diana received her Dipl. Ing. degree in computer science from "Politehnica" University of Bucharest, Romania in 1991, her Ph.D. in computer engineering from University of Southern California in 1998, and held visiting positions at Technical University Munich, University Joseph Fourier, and CEA-LETI. She is the recipient of a National Science Foundation Faculty Career Award (2000-2004), an ACM-SIGDA Technical Leadership Award (2003), the Carnegie Institute of Technology George Tallman Ladd Research Award (2004), an ACM-SIGDA Distinguished Service Award (2010), and several best paper awards. Marculescu is an IEEE Fellow and an ACM Distinguished Scientist and was an IEEE-Circuits and Systems Society Distinguished Lecturer (2004-2005) and the Chair of the ACM Special Interest Group on Design Automation (2005-2009). She was recently selected as an ELATE Fellow (2013-2014) and is the recipient of an Australian Research Council Future Fellowship (2013-2017) and the Marie R. Pistilli Women in EDA Achievement Award (2014).

2124 Hamerschlag Hall
Google Scholar
Diana Marculescu
Diana Marculescu

Making Machine Learning Systems Energy Efficient

Computing for Sustainability


1998 Ph.D., Computer Engineering, University of Southern California

1991 MS, Computer Science, Politehnica University of Bucharest

Media mentions

CMU Engineering

First round of Secure and Private IoT Initiative funded projects announced

CyLab’s Secure and Private IoT Initiative (IoT@CyLab) has broken ground as the first round of funded proposals have been announced. Twelve selected projects will be funded for one year, and results will be presented at the IoT@CyLab annual summit next year.

Chen and Stamoulis receive 2018 Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship

ECE Ph.D. students Zhuo Chen and Dimitrios Stamoulis were awarded the 2018 Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship.

CMU Engineering

Coming down from the cloud

ECE’s Diana Marculescu is bringing machine learning applications to your mobile device.

CMU Engineering

Faculty receive Celebration of Education Awards

Four College of Engineering faculty members will be honored at the upcoming Celebration of Education Awards on April 30: Jonathan Cagan, Rosemary Frollini, Diana Marculescu, and Baruch Fischhoff.

Eight engineering faculty members receive CIT Faculty Awards

Eight engineering faculty members recently received CIT Faculty Awards for their outstanding contribution to the College of Engineering.

ECE team wins Best Paper Award at Great Lakes Symposium

ECE’s Ruizhou Ding, Zeye (Dexter) Liu, Rongye Shi, Diana Marculescu, and Shawn Blanton recently received the Best Paper Award at the 27th edition of the Great Lakes Symposium on Very Large Scale Integration (GLSVLSI).

CMU Engineering

Center for Faculty Success open for business

The College of Engineering has founded a brand-new initiative to provide support to the university’s most valuable resource: its faculty.